Review Roundup

Ah, 2020 is finally coming to an end. Such a strange year but since no one can really go anywhere, I understand from the publishing industry that more people read e-books this year more than any other year. I could only read a couple books this year but instead of books I’ve been getting into Audible. I can listen while working. I can get a book done in four days instead of weeks. Amazing! But I still miss the reading though. I’ve also been writing my new sci-fi / fantasy book. A coming of age story. Book 2 of ‘The Chronicle Gates’ is done and should be out about in late Feb. And in Nov. I had five e-books sell in one month! Below I have reviews for middle grade books and Free review copies of sci-fi/ fantasy books. Including mine! I hope everyone has a great holiday!

Middle Grade Review

Review Roundup: Middle Grade Galore

Fast paced action adventures can be found between the pages of middle grade books. Often times, your find humor as well. Weather it be mystery, romance, sci-fi, or fantasy, children are always able to find something they love. Well, except romance, we go easy on that around here. But still, even adults read this (genera) at a rapid pace because most of the time, MG comes in trilogy or series of books. So here’s my top five MG books to read from the last decade.

For centuries mystical creatures of all description were gathered into a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary survives today as one of the last strongholds of true magic. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite.

Kendra and her brother, Seth, have no idea that their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. Inside the gated woods, ancient laws keep relative order among greedy trolls, mischievous satyrs, plotting witches, spiteful imps, and jealous fairies. However, when the rules get broken — Seth is a bit too curious and reckless for his own good — powerful forces of evil are unleashed, and Kendra and her brother face the greatest challenge of their lives. To save their family, Fablehaven, and perhaps even the world, Kendra and Seth must find the courage to do what they fear most.

**** Wow. This was good. The characters were well developed, the story was very well done with promise of more to come. Very fast and well paced story as well. 2006

Fablehaven (Fablehaven, #1)
series 1-5

In the hidden dragon sanctuary of Wyrmroost, Celebrant the Just, King of the Dragons, plots his revenge. He has long seen the sanctuaries as prisons, and he wants nothing more than to overthrow his captors and return the world to the Age of Dragons, when he and his kind ruled and reigned without borders. The time has come to break free and reclaim his power.

No one person is capable of stopping Celebrant and his dragon horde. It will take the ancient order of Dragonwatch to gather again if there is any chance of saving the world from destruction. In ancient times, Dragonwatch was a group of wizards, enchantresses, dragon slayers, and others who originally confined the majority of dragons into sanctuaries. But nearly all of the original Dragonwatch members are gone, and so the wizard Agad reaches out to Grandpa Sorenson for help.

As Kendra and Seth confront this new danger, they must draw upon all their skills, talents, and knowledge as only they have the ability to function together as a powerful dragon tamer. Together they must battle against forces with superior supernatural powers and breathtaking magical abilities.

How will the epic dragon showdown end? Will dragons overthrow humans and change the world as we know it?

**** A great follow up series to Fabelhaven where the familiar characters that you love, Kendra and Seth return, but they become caretakers of a sanctuary of their own. But this sanctuary has dragons… some good…some not so good… Celebrant the Just, King of the Dragons want Seth and Kendra gone, and return the world to the age of dragons! A fun and adventures read with old and new characters. 2017

Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure by [Brandon Mull, Brandon Dorman]
series 1-4 (5 coming soon

Heather and Picket are extraordinary rabbits with ordinary lives until calamitous events overtake them, spilling them into a cauldron of misadventures. They discover that their own story is bound up in the tumult threatening to overwhelm the wider world.

Kings fall and kingdoms totter. Tyrants ascend and terrors threaten. Betrayal beckons, and loyalty is a broken road with peril around every bend.

Where will Heather and Picket land? How will they make their stand? 

**** This is so good. I haven’t read a book this good about rabbits since Watership Down. I loved the journey that Picket and Heather go on and how these two characters grow. I’ll have to get the next one at once because, spoiler, it ends in a cliff hanger! 2014 (I have to say I found this in my comic book section on kindle so thought it was a comic book)

The Green Ember (The Green Ember #1)
series 1-4

One cruel night, Meggie’s father reads aloud from a book called INKHEART– and an evil ruler escapes the boundaries of fiction and lands in their living room. Suddenly, Meggie is smack in the middle of the kind of adventure she has only read about in books. Meggie must learn to harness the magic that has conjured this nightmare. For only she can change the course of the story that has changed her life forever.

This is INKHEART–a timeless tale about books, about imagination, about life. Dare to read it aloud.

**** This was a great trilogy, haven’t read this in a while so I don’t remember it much…but I do remember loving it. I just wish they made the last two movies.

Inkheart (Inkworld, #1)
series 1-3

Twelve-year-old Happenstance awakens in a cave with no memory of who he is or how he came to be there. Soon a mysterious trio arrives to take him away: the explorer Umber, the shy archer Sophie, and Oates, whose strength and honesty are both brutal. Hap and his new acquaintances narrowly escape the cavernous underworld and make their way to Lord Umber’s bustling jewel of a harbor city, Kurahaven.

Once there, Hap learns that Lord Umber is an extraordinary man — he’s a merchant, adventurer, inventor, royal adviser, and chronicler of all things monstrous and magical. But Umber’s accomplishments can’t answer the question closest to the boy’s heart: Who is Happenstance?

Desperate to uncover clues in his new, baffling surroundings, Hap accompanies Umber on dangerous and unusual missions. But Hap soon learns that there are powerful enemies inside the kingdom, and a ruthless assassin is hot on his trail. Faced with many unknowns, Hap knows one thing is certain: There’s a reason Umber has chosen him…if only he could determine it.

P. W. Catanese’s richly spun fantasy chronicles one boy’s quest for answers and hope in a world riddled by knowledge and power corrupted.

**** This was very good. The character of Hap discovering this new world. Another great trilogy.

Happenstance Found
series 1-3

These were all so great stories for children and adults alike. The characters growth and interesting worlds are all amazing and wonderful. Once you pick one of these up, you won’t be able to put one down until you get through one of these amazing series!